The Diploma in Elementary Education (D. EI. Ed) is a two year professional programme of teacher education. It aims to prepare teacher for the elementary stage of education, i.e. classes I to VIII. The aim of elementary education is to fulfil the basic learning needs of children in a inclusive school environment bridging social and gender gaps with the active participation of the community.
The elementary teacher education program carries different nomenclatures such a BTC, J.B.T, D.Ed and (Diploma in Education). Henceforth, the nomenclatures of the program shall be the same across all states and it shall be referred to as the ‘Diploma in Elementary Education (D. EI. Ed).

Course Duration:

The D.EI.ED programme shall be of a duration of two academic years. However, the student shall be permitted to complete the programme within a maximum period of three year from the date of admission to the programme.

Intake & Eligibility:


The basic unit shall be of 50 students. Two basic units are permissible initially. However, Government institutions shall be sanctioned maximum intake four units subject to fulfilment of other requirements.


Candidate with at least 50% marks in the higher secondary (+2) or its equivalent examination are eligible for admission.
The reservation and relaxation in marks for SC/ST/OBC/PWD and other categories shall be as per the rules of the central government / State government, whichever is applicable.

Admission Procedure & Course Fees:

Admission Procedure:

Admission shall be made on merit on the basis of marks obtained in the qualifying examination and/or in the entrance examination or any other selection process as per the policy of the state government/UT administration.


The institution shall charge only such fee as prescribed by t5he affiliating body/state government concerned in according with provision of National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE) (Guidelines for regulations of tuition fees and other fees chargeable by unaided teacher education institutions) Regulation, 2002, as amended from time to time and shall not charge donation, capitation fee etc from the students.